#Nurture 14/15 – 5 of the Best.

So, here goes with my Janus act – looking back and forward. It’s always a sobering thing to do so best get on with it!

5 of the best

1.
I dropped to 4 days a week as of September and to my astonishment…I like it! I have worked full time all of my life and often envied those who could be choosier about their working lives. I never could as I had responsibilities in the shape of two boys and only me to rely on. Now, I think everyone should only work 4 days a week – that’s how to sort out the work/life balance thing!

2.
We have managed to devise assessments without levels – except there are really levels of a different sort hovering in the background – and seem to be the only school in our neck of the woods who have anything in place. I have to thank Twitter, as well as my lovely colleagues, for it was Twitter that helped shape my thinking. Recent postings suggest we are jogging along the sort of lines some of the big beasts in the edu-blogging world are also treading. In addition, our friendly Mocksted inspector said she had yet to see anything from any school she had inspected and gave us a seal of approval. We are using this year very much as a pilot and things may have to change but at least we have made a good start. As this will be legacy, I am pleased about that.

3.
I have become the owner of a holiday property. Me!! It seemed such a slog to manage to own one property never mind two. But lo! Through a combination of circumstances too long to go into here, the husband and I now own a small holiday place. I see it as a resource and asset for family and friends and something to show for part of my lump sum.

4.
I know this might seems pathetic but I blew some of my lump sum on new windows and porch for our house and I’m so thrilled with the result. It was chaotic as it all happened in the last two weeks of term right before Christmas and right when the days are shortest and the weather pretty foul. But the builder, Mark, was fantastic and the job was finished on time and looks fabulous! We now look smart and up to date rather than a bit down at heel and shambolic and our house is quieter and warmer.

5.
I have a clutch of truly wonderful grandchildren who light up my life and for whom I would do anything. Four of them – Joshua, 13, Megan, 10, Jacob, nearly 9 and Luke, nearly 8 – are non-genetic (technically they belong to my husband but actually they are mine!). Until December, I had one genetic one – Matthew, 8 – but then, along came Peggy Rose on the 8th December and with her Lilly, 13, and newly acquired.

Peggy Rose is the first child of my first child and somehow that seems special and I can’t entirely explain why. We have waited a long time for her and she is worth it – all 6 lbs and 11 ounces of her – and she seems to be following a family tradition. My two sons and two genetic grandchildren were all born in December!!!!! I’d like to know the odds of that happening clever maths people!

And so to the future – an uncertain future.

1.
I want to pluck up the courage to do a park run. In September one of our staff started a couch-to-5k group and I thought I’d give it a go mainly to support her initiative. I was fairly sure I would be rubbish and it wouldn’t last. Seven of us started out on this endeavour and to my astonishment, I wasn’t the worst! The years of swimming had obviously paid off. The plan was that we would all follow the programme and then enter a 5k race. Well, Dear Reader, I am the last woman standing as one by one they fell by the wayside with injuries and other commitments. I can now run for 30 minutes 3 times a week and I feel good about that!

2.
I want to have a go at learning the front crawl. This featured in my #Nurture 13/14 as something I was going to try and do. I was not very successful in going it alone but wasn’t able to make any progress. So, in January, I am making contact with a swimming teacher to have a couple of lessons and see if it’s worth having any more!

3.
When we lead busy lives – and let’s face it, working in education is synonymous with a busy life – family and friends sometimes become luxuries we can rarely or barely afford. I have lots of lovely friends and haven’t seen some of them for some time. I want to remedy this in the New Year as when I do spend times with friends I always enjoy it. The family is at an interesting stage with children coming up to GCSE time and a new baby to enjoy and I think I can make a difference in a way I wasn’t able to with my own two sons.

4.
I want my rugby team to have a good season and great success. We’ve done alright recently but it’s an uphill struggle most of the time. That said, we don’t give up. We recently hosted the Rugby League Cares heritage exhibition and had a couple of lovely events to complement it. We had a Show and Tell where people brought their memorabilia and talked about what it meant to them and a dinner to honour our heroes. This year we honoured the Brothers in Arms – four players who went off to WW1 and did not return. It was an emotional evening. We may be small but we punch above our weight!

5.
And finally, I can barely write this without a wave of emotion, I hope that I will embrace my impending retirement with dignity and grace. I don’t know how it has come to this. I don’t know where the time has gone and there seems so much not done, not said, not achieved. I know that when I go at the end of the summer term the water will close over my head and life will go – as it should – but I hope to leave on a high with the respect of my colleagues. That matters more to me than almost anything. I hope people will think that I did a good job. I hope I have done well by the children I have taught. I hope I have made a difference, however small. And I hope I can bear it.

3 thoughts on “#Nurture 14/15 – 5 of the Best.”

  1. Retirement is truly what you make it. Keep learning, enjoy the opportunity to choose & like Nike says – Just do it!!

  2. I found this moving, Julie. I really hope that retirement offers you opportunities and open doors. I’m sure it will! I find that I have time and choices now I’m beyond the full-time working stage of my life. I think you will find the same!

Leave a Reply

